Prince Hall Lodge No. 38
(formerly El Sol De Cuba No. 38)

The lodges in the First Masonic District numbering among it's members several Spanish speaking brothers, P.M. Lafayette Marcus of Mt. Olive Lodge No. 2 conceived the idea for the establishment of a lodge, the work of which could be conducted in the Spanish Language. On June 26, 1880 P.M. Lafayette Marcus, Andrew N. Portos, John Johnson, Manuel R. Coronado, Abraham Seino, and Sexto Pozo of Mt. Olive Lodge No. 2 and Abony Brown of Celestial Lodge No. 3, presented a Petition to the Grand Lodge for a Dispensation to set up a Spanish speaking Lodge, to be named "EL SOL de CUBA" (The SUN of CUBA), and naming as their First Officers: Lafayette Marcus, Worshipful Master; Manuel R. Coronado, Senior Warden; and Sexto Pozo, Junior Warden. A dispensation was granted in June 1880, and on June 1, 1881 a Warrant was issued and the Lodge was numbered 38.

During the years 1891 - 1895, When the Spanish speaking colonials of Cuba and Puerto Rico were actively engaged in furthering their campaign for independence, the soil of the American States had already been dedicated to Liberty, EL SOL de CUBA no.38 was comprised of cubans who exercised the Esoteric Principles of Masonry and many brothers who lived far away from home, would find the Spanish speaking Lodge a haven of rest and comfort. At one time there were visiting brothers to EL SOL de CUBA from almost every Republic of South America and the exchange of fraternal greetings were cordial and pleasurable. The Lodge was unique in that all business and ritualistic work was conducted entirely in Spanish.

In the Year 1913, Brother Claudius E. Cyril, who was the Elected Master, suggested for the building of the Lodge a change in it's name and had the vigorous support of the Past Masters and Members. The members voted unanimously to rename the Lodge "PRINCE HALL" in honor and commemoration of our renowned Progenitor and Patron Saint. A Petition was made and on November 27, 1914, a Warrant was Granted by the Grand Lodge to Brother Claudius E. Cyril, Master; Brother Byron D. Allerton, Senior Warden; Brother David F. Sheppard, Junior Warden, with the lodge retaining its number.

Elected Officers

Maurice T. J. Horne, Jr.
Worshipful Master

Nikel Stephen
Senior Warden

Aronne Funderburg
Junior Warden

Right Worshipful Jamal R. Ali

Right Worshipful Nigel J. Cudjoe

Past Master Christopher J. Spencer 3 Year Trustee
Past Master Ivan Simpson 2 Year Trustee
Past Master Bernard B. H. Bowman 1 Year Trustee

Appointed Officers

Right Worshipful Paul W. James Assistant Secretary
Brother Osiris D. Stephen Senior Deacon
Brother Clifton E. King Junior Deacon
Brother Dy-Shon Phillip Senior Master of Ceremonies
Brother Kendon Pysadee Junior Master of Ceremonies
Brother Eric Potts Senior Steward
Brother Rashad Johnson Junior Steward
Past Master Gregory Gattereau Marshal
Past Master Bernard B. H. Bowman Chaplain
Past Master Felix D. Rodriguez (66) Tiler

Past Masters

Our Pillars of Wisdom

1. Lafayette Marcus (*)27. Sterling Williams (*)53. Bernard L. Holley (*)
2. Joaquim Gorazbe (*)28. Joseph A. Jones (*)54. Albert Johnson (*)
3. Sandaha Parrilla (*)29. Joseph I. Pleasant, Jr. (*)     55. Sylvester Yates (*)
4. Longin Jimenez (*)30. Lawrence O. Rowland (*)     56. Gus C. Dennis (*)
5. Ramon Rothchild (*)31. M. Anthony Rodgers (*)57. Donald Peterson (*)
6. Charles Harris (*)32. William A. Treadvance (*)58. Samuel Paige, Jr.
7. Arthur Schomburg (*)33. Augustus W. Colwell (*)59. Victor H. Smith (*)
8. Paul R. Gray (*)34. Joseph Leon Tease (*)60. Amos Richmond (*)
9. Claudius E. Cyril (*)35. William E. Wilburn (*)61. Raymond Riley
10. Byron Allerton (*)36. Baxter F. Jackson (*)62. George N. Bishop
11. William Carrington (*)37. Louis C. Carter (*)63. M. Teah Wulah
12. Arron F. Pollard (*)38. Daniel W. Jones64. Charles Bolton
13. Samuel L. Carr (*)39. John R. Mason (*)65. Gregory N. Garner
14. Philip M. Pollard (*)40. Walter S. Cooper (*)66. Frank D. Alston (*)
15. Fredrick F. Johns (*)41. H. Chester Brown (*)67. Connie C. McCullough
16. David J. Clark (*)42. Edward Williams (*)68. Ivan Simpson
17. Cary D. Blue (*)43. Ruben H. Mack (*)69. Edward D. Swire (*)
18. Jishua A. Turner (*)44. Carroll Tinley (*)70. Nigel J. Cudjoe
19. Emil Toussant (*)45. Garland Tanks (?)71. Radell Harris (*)
20. Milton Everett (*)46. Carroll J. Banks (*)72. Jaime Gibson
21. John M. Rice (*)47. Ernest C. Middleton, Jr. (*)73. Frederick E. Smith
22. Ernest Boadley (*)48. Phillip H. Reid (*)74. Miguel Rivera
23. Augustus White (*)49. Edward F. Roberts (?)75. Fred D. Stanley
24. James L. Jackson, Jr. (*)     50. Eugene G. Goddard (*)76. Dontae Johnson
25. Linwood Devonish (*)51. Stacy Hicks (*)77. Jamal R. Ali
26. Alphonso Smith (*)52. James L. Rembert (*)78. Bernard B. H. Bowman

DM Paul W. JamesDM Gregory Gattereau

(*) Denotes deceased
(DM) Demitted into the lodge with the rank of Past Master